Three Compelling Reasons to Hire a DUI Lawyer

Florida has the second strictest DUI laws in the country, behind only Arizona. A person who is convicted of a DUI in Florida may be required to install an interlock ignition device even after a first offense, and may have their license suspended for up to six months, be required to pay up to a […]

The High Cost of Not Defending a DUI

Anyone who has driven down Florida highways has seen the billboards saying “A cab ride is cheaper than a DUI.” It’s true. But if you’ve made the mistake of getting behind the wheel after having too many drinks, choosing to not defend your DUI is a grave mistake. If you’re convicted of a DUI, the […]

Searches and Seizures at DUI Traffic Stops

Anyone who has stumbled upon a DUI checkpoint or seen flashing blue and red lights in their rear view mirror, and has had a few drinks, is probably concerned. They’re worried about all the bad things that could happen if they’re charged with a DUI. They could spend time in jail, pay fines, lose their […]

Marijuana Use and Driving: Standards for DUI in Florida

Marijuana is one of the most commonly used drugs in the United States, yet testing for it in a driving under the influence (DUI) situation is challenging for law enforcement. No industry standards currently exist for measuring marijuana intoxication levels. While recreational marijuana is not legal in Florida, medical marijuana use according to specific guidelines […]

Can I Refuse a Field Sobriety Test?

While refusing a field sobriety test is an option for a driver in Florida, doing so is an important decision that carries certain risks. When law enforcement makes a stop for suspicion of drunk driving, the driver will be asked to perform certain tests, and how they react to the officer’s commands during the tests […]

Are DUI Checkpoints and Roadblocks Legal?

Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious crime that endangers everyone who shares the roads. If you are a driver, you may have experienced being sidelined by a DUI checkpoint. Officers may use checkpoints and stop every passing vehicle to screen drivers, or they may just stop some objective pattern of vehicles, such as […]

What Happens If I Get a DUI Out-of-State?

Most Floridians have been to or will visit other states for business, vacation, or family reasons. Perhaps you went to visit relatives for a holiday, gone somewhere like New York City or Las Vegas for a fun trip, or had to attend a professional conference for work. In any of these scenarios, it would not […]

Collateral Consequences of a DUI Conviction in Florida

If you were arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Florida, you may be worried about possible fines, license suspension, or even jail time. While these well-known penalties often weigh on the mind of anyone charged with DUI, many people overlook or fail to consider all of the potential collateral consequences of […]

What If I’m Arrested For DUI In Florida, and I’m Under 21?

For most drivers, the legal limit for their blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08 percent. However, if you are under the age of 21, the legal limit is a BAC of 0.02 percent. That means that if you have just one drink, you are likely going to be considered legally under the influence of alcohol. […]

Common Misconceptions in Florida DUI Cases

A driving under the influence (DUI) charge is scary. It’s even scarier after you’ve heard horror stories—many of which are probably untrue—about DUI cases in Florida. When it comes to your individual case, we can help separate facts from fiction under Florida law. Here are some of the most common misconceptions heard by our St. […]