If you are pulled over for speeding and the officer gives you a ticket, you are being fined for violating traffic laws. The amount of the fine is directly related to how much over the speed limit that the officer reports you were traveling. However, the fine is doubled if an officer issues the ticket for speeding in a school zone.

How Much Are Speeding Fines?

According to Florida Statute 318.18(3)(b), you get a warning if you are speeding 1 to 5 mph over the speed limit. Fines for faster speeds are as follows:

– $25 for 6 to 9 mph over

– $100 for 10 to 14 mph over

– $150 for 15 to 19 mph over

– $175 for 20 to 29 mph over

– $250 for 30 mph or more over.

In school zones, however, Florida Statute 318.18(3)(c) states that you will be fined $50 for speeding 1-5 mph over the limit. The statute also states that the fines for exceeding school-zone speed limits will be double the amount of the above list. Despite this, the Florida DMV warns drivers that fines can vary depending on the county in which you receive a traffic ticket.

Are There Other Consequences?

Your car insurance company could increase your premium or cancel your policy if you are fined for speeding and fail to pay the full fine. Additionally, traffic violation points will be added to your driver’s license, and the amount is based on the amount of excess speed limit. For 15 mph or less, three points are added; for 16 mph or more, four points are added.

Can I Avoid a Speeding Fine and Violation Points?

Unfortunately, there is no way to get out of paying a fine entirely unless the ticket is dismissed, in which you can still incur court costs. If you complete a traffic school course that the state approves and present your certificate to the county court clerk by the deadline specified on your ticket, you can get the traffic violation points removed. Requesting a court appearance provides the same benefits, without having to go to traffic school, only if the judge withholds adjudication. If the court finds you guilty, however, it may impose a civil penalty of up to $1,000, require that you complete a traffic school course or add points to your driver’s license. It could even impose a combination or all of these penalties.

Contact the Khonsari Law Group for Legal Counsel

While a speeding ticket is a minor infraction, speeding in a school zone leads to opportunities for more severe charges if a child or pedestrian is injured. If this is the case, you need qualified attorneys fighting for your rights. Contact the Khonsari Law Group now for a free consultation.